# Proposed Forestry Workgroup Membership

The FWG membership will be based on the following construct to the maximum extent possible:

- Members from each signatory (one each with an alternate identified) (9)
- At-large Members (up to 10 with option to identify an alternate) representing rural and urban forestry and academia
- At least one advisor from the agriculture sector (invited)

Nominations for at-large membership will be accepted from all FWG members, advisors, and interested parties, and the selection of the at-large membership will be determined by the signatory members with consideration to their level of commitment, skills and perspectives (e.g., geographic diversity and expertise).

The FWG membership will strive to be representative of the signatories to the 2014 Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement and those that take leadership roles in the Chesapeake Bay Program structure, while empowering Advisory Committees and nonsignatories. All others are welcome to participate as interested parties and are encouraged to actively participate in the discussions.

# Chair Appointment, Coordination, and Communication

The FWG collectively discusses the renewal or change of their Chairmanship every three years. The renewal of a Chair will have concurrence from the WQGIT.

Coordination for the FWG will be provided by the US Forest Service Chesapeake Bay Liaison.

Following every FWG meeting, an email will be distributed that summarizes the action items and decisions from that call. Full minutes will come afterward (~1 week) and be posted to the website for that meeting.

FWG members are encouraged to have their own coordination process within their respective jurisdiction/agency/organization so the flow of information to and from the FWG is efficient.

# Governance Approach: Consensus Decision-Making

Decision-making for the Forestry Workgroup will be done by members through a unanimous or consensus-based process that ultimately concludes in the polling of members to determine the will of the group. If, after substantial negotiations consensus cannot be reached, and only as a last resort, Forestry Workgroup <u>members</u> will be polled, and the decision will be elevated to the WQGIT along with a description of the positions of the polled members.

### **FWG Membership**

#### Signatories (and alternates):

Delaware—Keesha Braunskill District of Columbia—Earl Euster (Steve Saari) Maryland-- Anne Hairston-Strang (Justin Hynicka) New York – Karen Stainbrook (Lauren Townley) Pennsylvania—Tracey Coulter (Matt Keefer) Virginia – Matt Poirot (Greg Evans) West Virginia – Herb Peddicord (Linda Carnell) EPA: Nick DiPasquale CBC: Bevin Buchheister (Ann Swanson) NRCS: Tom Ward (Tim Garcia)

### At-Large Membership (10 max):

Frank Rodgers/Tanner Haid, Cacapon Institute Craig Highfield/Jenny McGarvey, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay Clair Ryan/Renee Reber, CBF Judy Okay, J&J Consulting Brian LeCouteur, WashCOG Earl Bradley, Magothy River Land Trust David Wise/Stefanie Eisenbise, Stroud Water Research Center Kathy Boomer, The Nature Conservancy Keith Eschelman, UMD (invited) Eric Wiseman, Va Tech (invited)